Lynn Kamerlin receives the 2018 The Svedberg Prize


The 2018 The Svedberg Prize awarded to Lynn Kamerlin, Uppsala University.

Lynn Kamerlin has been awarded the 2018 The Svedberg Prize for her innovative studies of enzymatic reactions, where she combines a broad spectrum of theoretical, physical and organic chemistry methods to understand the chemistry of complex enzymatic mechanisms. Via doctoral studies in Birmingham and postdoctoral studies in Vienna and Los Angeles, Lynn has established an independent research group at Uppsala University since 2011.

- It is a fantastic researcher who receives the prize. Lynn has impressive productivity and drive and constantly comes out with new results, says Mats Hansson, President of the Swedish Society for Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology (SFBBM).

The handover of the medal will take place on Tuesday the 19th of June, at 12:25 at the 1st National Meeting of the Swedish Chemical Society ( in Lund.

More information about Lynn's research can be found at and at the group webpage:

About the The Svedberg Prize

The Svedberg Prize is jointly awarded by the Swedish National Committee for the Molecular Biosciences with the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (KVA), and the Swedish Society for Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology (SFBBM).

The prize is awarded to an outstanding biochemist or molecular biologist who is active in Sweden, and who is not yet 40 years old on the year the prize is awarded.

The Svedberg

The Svedberg (1884-1971, actually Theodor Svedberg) was a professor of physical chemistry at Uppsala University. His research focused on colloids and macromolecular complexes. Han received the Nobel prize in chemistry in 1926 for the discoveries he made with the analytical ultracentrifuge he developed.

Some previous recipients of the prize:

2017 – Elin Esbjörner Winters (Chalmers University of Technology)
2016 – Rickard Sandberg (Karolinska Institute)
2015 – Ingemar André (Lund University)
2014 – David Drew (Stockholm University)
2013 – Martin Ott (Stockholm University)
2012 – Martin Högbom (Stockholm University)
2011 – Karin Lindkvist (Lund University)
2010 – Per Jemth (Uppsala University)

a longer list can be found at


The Swedish Society for Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology (SFBB) (Swed. "Svenska föreningen för biokemi, biofysik och molekylärbiologi") constitutes an asscociation of Swedish biochemists, biophysicists and molecular biologists, as well as other individuals who find these fields of interest. The objective of the association is to promote the development of biochemistry, biophysics and molecular biology. SFBBM is associated with the Swedish Chemical Society,

About the Swedish National Committee for the Molecular Biosciences

The Swedish National Committee for the Molecular Biosciences is one of 18 committees of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, and represents Sweden among other things in the international scientific unions that are include in ICSU (the International Council for Science). The National Committees have, among other things, been tasked with promoting research and development within their subject areas, acting to strengthen their subject area's position in society, and being available as an advisory organ for the universities and other parts of the education system.

For more information please contact:

Mats Hansson, President of SFBBM, 070-2789957
Hjalmar Brismar, President of the Swedish National Commitee for the Molecular Biosciences 08-161015
Lynn Kamerlin, 018-4714423

News of the department of cell and molecular biology